top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSteven

To the weekend.. and beyond!



We met to leave for the island around 8. We didn’t arrive until after 11, because we are on African time and people are often late (also traffic makes it worse)! In order to get to the island you must walk a ways to a small dock where they have long boats, similar to canoes but larger and run by a motor. The motor sputters often and every once in awhile you wonder if they ran out of gas and if they have oars on board just in case. There are close to 100 boats sloshing around the pier.


A typical amount of trash on the coast, in the distance the boats wait for people to transport to the islands

Meanwhile, slightly inland, we try to barter a price for the trip. Basically you rent the boat and the team that drives it for the day. Most of the time you have to negotiate to get a fair price. Especially if you are white, often the price will start out higher and you have to judge whether that seems like a fair price or not.


Kate sporting my new hat!

While they bartered for the boat, I bartered for a straw hat to protect my head from the sun! We are close to the equator and burn much easier if out in the sun (and you really can feel the difference too). Finally all was settled and we were off. We went down to the pier, nearly 12 of us mostly from the galley, a couple of friends, Kate, and I. The pier seems to be endlessly crowded and there is always a fear in the back of my mind that someone will push me into the water as they pass by. The driver brought the boat close to us and we stepped one by one onto it, each time somebody did the boat would rock from one side to the other, seeming to tempt tipping.



A short video that another crew member took while on the boat.


The ride itself took about 45 minutes or so, but we got to see some cool sights as we passed by the other islands on the way. Kevin, our new friend we met from South Africa, kindly pointed out anything of interest as we went. For instance, this rock-face is used as a quarry and people will collect the rocks to build with.


Kate, Kevin, and I

View from the boat

As we arrived we were led to a small canopy along the beach, but the group opted to continue on to a restaurant with outdoor seating and lounging instead. We set up there.

I have seem multiple spellings of the Island. One being Roume (found online) and then the other being Room (found on a sign on the island). Either way, we figured when in Roume do as the Roumans do!




So we enjoyed a cold soda together, the hot sun, and the ocean. Most of our time was spent in a state of relaxation, either walking along the beach, climbing some small rocks by the shore, or just laying there and bathing in it all. The sun was blazing and we made sure to apply sunscreen and not to fall asleep too long on one side.

There were merchants along the shore selling various trinkets and afghans, but we decided against getting anything. We have 6 weeks yet to decide We ate a small lunch that we had brought (peanut butter and jelly sandwiches from the ship) and eventually the day began to come to a close.

Unfortunately the whole day was not good and it ended on quite a bad note. Being somewhere new and not being in charge of the expedition to the island, it is easy just to follow everybody else and not think of the consequences as much. What this meant is that we, not thinking, used the restaurant’s outdoor lounge space as a spot to set up and put our stuff down (going to and from the beach) without ordering anything but a few drinks. I didn’t think much of it because it was just what the group was doing and it was a lounging area of the restaurant. Right before we left, however, it became clear as the restaurant manager came out and complained about us not getting any food and yet using up their facilities. He spoke French but the implication of what he was saying was clear. Not only that but our driver also scolded us the entire ride home saying that he had to pay the restaurant for us using their area. He asked for reimbursement and we couldn’t argue, because he was right in everything he was saying. I just hope that he actually did pay the restaurant, but either way paying a little extra was no big deal if it smoothed the waves a bit. It was never discussed or made known to us that it was an issue until after the fact, so it was hard to avoid unless we just had the foresight to be wise. Needless to say we all felt terrible, especially Kate, Kevin, and I. For the rest of the day and even a few days later is has been a hard thing to get off of our minds and there is still guilt in it whenever someone asks us about how the island was. We must use this as something to learn by and move on, being wiser in the future, even if in a foreign land and not in a leadership position. We represent MercyShips and more importantly, God, and we must strive to represent Him better.


 

That night was the African fashion show! Where the crew dressed up and African garments and showed it off to the cheering crowd. I’ll admit, I only was there for the last 5 minutes, but it was entertaining nonetheless. I got a couple videos just to show you what life on the ship is like sometimes. There is always some sort of activity going on, it seems!





 

So I have a confession. It’s been about a week since I last wrote. Last week I worked Monday and Tuesday and then I got sick on Wednesday. Being sick on the ship is not fun. I mean, it isn’t fun anywhere, but when you’re mostly confined to your room to your small bed (the width is smaller than my wingspan, for instance) then it seems a lot more restricting. Sometimes you just have to get up and walk around a little bit. It can really easily feel claustrophobic when you get in bed and pull the curtains around yourself, being enclosed in the tomb of your cabin. I felt even worse about it on the day I was supposed to go back to work and they sent me home. The reason we’re here, after all, is to serve and volunteer our time, so when the only thing we have to give disappears it feels like you’ve let down the team. I took advantage of the time off and did my best to sleep away the sickness.

My "sick day" food. Ramen noodles and pickle chips

For the most part, it was effective! Sure, I still cough and when I’m sick my cough will typically last at least a week if not two, but if I have a lozenge I am able to work and feel able-bodied. All that being said, I only lost one day of work and was able to once again be helpful (and feel helpful) on Saturday. In all that rest and work, I did not apply the time to write, so here I am trying to piece together the bits of writing I’ve done over the last week and a half or so and make something somewhat coherent and interesting to read! Hopefully it worked! On to bigger and better things! Like… ice cream.


Other baked goodies

Kate invited me along with some of her friends to go into town and get some ice cream. It almost seems like a cultural shock when you step from the streets into a place like this. You really do just have to know where to look to find little gems. I hear people talking more and more recently of all the cool restaurants that they’ve been to in the area.


More goodies!

I think the part that’s the hardest is just stepping out and going there. Its definitely much easier in a group that knows where they’re going. We had a rare moment as we ate our ice cream at this nice restaurant where everyone at the table was American. That’s probably the first time I’ve been in the company of only people from my country. MercyShips truly is a melting pot of people!

They served bread with 3 different dipping options. A spicy marinara, black olive butter (delicious), and a third we couldn't identify

We actually had another opportunity to go out to a restaurant recently. One of Peter’s (my roommate) workmates was going back home and we decided to go out to a nice place to celebrate. The atmosphere of the restaurant was nice and the prices were expensive (for the area).


My entree: The Ambassador Steak


It was clear that these sort of establishments are not able to be enjoyed by the majority of the population. Being here is kind of like a summer camp. You bunk with people you don’t know, meet plenty of new people, grow close in a short amount of time, and then have to say goodbye when each person’s time is up.



 

Life on the ship is beginning to become normal. We’ve been here for 2 weeks now and I think I’m running out of interesting things to say. Most nights consist of Kate and I meeting up and going to midships (the lounging area) and hanging out, watching a show on my laptop, playing a game, or maybe getting a latte from our friend Andry!




The community here really is amazing. I joked around while I was sick that I would for once like to just sit without someone trying to be friendly and start a conversation with me! Jokes aside though, everywhere you go you will be able to find a friend you know or make a new one. You can tell that one of the things MercyShips prides itself on is its community and it is clear why.


Part of my community. Emilia made mango smoothies for the galley!

Although trying to find a quiet space to yourself can be challenging, the plus side is always having someone to sit with or talk to. Kate and I always have each other as well and try to meet up regularly during our breaks and enjoy our time off together when we can.


Kate trying something that some of the galley crew made for themselves. Its a mixture of milk, garlic, ginger, and some other spices. Really strong and really spicy! Some of them make this mix and drink a full bottle of it for the health benefits. I could only do half a glass.


That's it for this week, I know it was a bit all over the place. I guess that's what happens when you wait a week to post!

66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page